Tags

,

It’s Sunday night and the chores are done; dishes washed and dried, children tucked into bed, lunches packed and clothes laid out in anticipation of a new week. The tinny cackle of laughter from the downstairs television pings about the hallway. Here I sit, laptop ajar, combing my memory for those things I swear I would write about when I just had a moment.

Those moments are swept away in the everyday.  I honestly don’t know where it all goes.  Sure, I’m busy.  We are all busy.  Each week is a hurtle through space and time that accelerates ever faster.  Or so it seems.

Why is it that time seems to pass more quickly as we age?  A little bit of research tells me that we have two classifications of memory vantages: prospective and retrospective.  Our prospective memory is filled with the here and now, the often mundane. The retrospective memories contain the highlight reel of sorts; new experiences, peak experiences. As children and young adults, we are doing and learning so many new things and our memory records thusly. When our daily experience begins to blend together, with many moments that are routine, our memory records fewer new points.

What is the lesson in this? More memories = longer (slower) perceived time.

Being present is difficult for me.  There’s always something else that needs to be done.  I never thought that my inner drive to get things done could impact my perception of life.

This one is To Be Continued…

peace –

Melissa

 

 

 

