Tags

, , , ,

It’s been a long time since I wrote something. All of my spare (non-working) hours have been devoted to end-of-the-school-year activities and fixing-up-the-house projects. I made a promise to myself to write consistently. I feel failure and guilt in not meeting my goals. I miss the brain wracking effort of making a word prompt fit the angles of a poem. This is my life; facing up to inconsistency and relaunching the effort. Today’s word is relieved.

the relief of being imperfect

Apparently I am
the keeper
of that personality type,
when on a good day
may reach
a perfect specimen of
dignity
diligence
duty, a
tidy package
of existence.
Of course, this cannot
last – cut
the tether, please!
& upon sharp release
relieved of perfection
the deluge takes purchase,
rush to equilibrium or
(on a bad day)
one face first,
loose
fallible
stumble
earthward

by Melissa Kro.

via Daily Prompt: Relieved

